Group photo, November 2021

group leader

Dr Nuria Tapia-Ruiz

Senior Lecturer in Chemistry

Nuria was born in Barcelona and graduated in Chemistry from the University of Barcelona in 2009. After this, she travelled to Scotland (Glasgow) to pursue her PhD studies with Prof. Gregory in the Chemistry Department at the University of Glasgow. In 2013, she moved to the east coast of Scotland (School of Chemistry, University of St. Andrews) to work as a Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Peter Bruce in energy storage materials. In 2014, she moved with Prof. Bruce and his research group to Oxford (Materials Department, University of Oxford) to work as a Research Fellow where she took up the role of Team Leader of the Sodium-ion battery team. She started her independent career as a Lecturer in Chemistry at Lancaster University in 2017 and was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2020. ​In November 2022 Nuria, her research group and lab moved to Imperial College London where she is Senior Lecturer. She currently holds a CAMS-UK fellowship. 


Research Fellow

Layered oxide cathode materials for Na-ion batteries

Research Fellow

Red-phosphorous/ hard carbon anodes for Na-ion batteries

Research Fellow

High voltage spinel cathode materials for Li-ion batteries

Visiting Research Fellow

Layered oxide cathode materials for Na-ion batteries


Spinel  cathode materials for Mg batteries

Year 4 PhD

High voltage spinel materials for Li-ion batteries

Oxide-type materials for Na-ion batteries

Hard Carbons for Na-ion batteries

Year 4 PhD

Rocksalt cathodes for Li-ion batteries

Year 2 PhD

Disordered rocksalt cathode materials for Li-ion batteries

Year 3 PhD

Microporous materials in energy storage

Jiaxi li

Year 1 PhD

Interfaces in Na-ion batteries

MSci students

Ding Ding

bowen yu

Disordered Rocksalts for Li-ion batteries



MChem Students

PhD Students

Visiting PhD Students